The Enterprise Architecture Domains

There are four architecture domains BDAT for short (Business, Data, Application and Technology) architecture activities usually encompass all four of them.

  1. The Business Architecture defines the business strategy, governance, organization, and key business processes.
  2. The Data Architecture describes the structure of an organization’s logical and physical data assets and data management resources.
  3. The Application Architecture provides a blueprint for the individual applications to be deployed, their interactions, and their relationships to the core business processes of the organization.
  4. The Technology Architecture describes the logical software and hardware capabilities that are required to support the deployment of business, data, and application services. This includes IT infrastructure, middleware, networks, communications, processing, standards, etc.

Screen Shot 2016-01-20 at 11.38.05 AM.png

As mentioned a complete enterprise architecture should address all of the four domains, realistically though and due to the usual constraints not all domains are included and the new architecture is scoped and trimmed down to the most impacted domains, this increases the risk of inconsistencies. Such a risk should be clarified and highlighted.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s